In Depth

Forest Certification Matrix

The Forest Certification Matrix compares each major certification program in these areas: Basic Information, Governance, Standardization, Verification and Product Tracking. The systems include the American Tree Farm System (ATFS), Canadian Standards Association (CSA), the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC), Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification Schemes (PEFC), and the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI).

This guide is intended solely as a brief introduction to various forest certification systems. Inclusion in this matrix does not suggest endorsement or preference by GreenBlue.

Click here to view fulll matrix (pdf)

Read more on each certiication’s standards:

ATFS Standards

CSA Standards

FSC Standards

PEFC Standards

SFI Standards


Other Certificaiton comparison studies:

Yale Program on Forest Policy and Governance